Skip to content
Lower risk Medical device recall · FDA · Published December 18, 2017

Johnson & Johnson Vision Care ACUVUE OASYS Contact Lenses Recall: Package Integrity Risk

Johnson & Johnson Vision Care recalls ACUVUE OASYS contact lenses with lot number B00NKM0G due to potential package integrity failure observed during testing. Consumers should check their lenses for the specific lot number and model details.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #Z-1744-2020Medical deviceJohnson & Johnson Vision Care ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmJohnson & Johnson Vision Care, Inc.7500 Centurion Pkwy · Jacksonville, FL 32256-0517
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Johnson & Johnson Vision Care is recalling ACUVUE OASYS contact lenses with lot number B00NKM0G because package integrity testing found potential issues. This could lead to lenses being damaged or contaminated, but the recall does not specify a risk of injury or harm to users. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/72297-johnson-johnson-vision-care-acuvue-oasys-contact-lenses-recall-package.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/72297-johnson-johnson-vision-care-acuvue-oasys-contact-lenses-recall-package · Updated August 31, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #Z-1744-2020

Cite this page

“Johnson & Johnson Vision Care ACUVUE OASYS Contact Lenses Recall: Package Integrity Risk.” GovInfoNow, updated August 31, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/72297-johnson-johnson-vision-care-acuvue-oasys-contact-lenses-recall-package. Based on FDA recall #Z-1744-2020 (https://api.fda.gov/device/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22Z-1744-2020%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The recall states that package integrity failure was observed during routine testing by an external re-packager. This means the packaging might not protect the lenses properly, potentially leading to damage or contamination. However, the recall does not specify that this has caused any injuries or serious harm to users.

Who’s affected

Contact lens wearers who purchased ACUVUE OASYS for ASTIGMATISM lenses with lot number B00NKM0G (Base Curve 8.6, Refractive Power -3.00D-1.25/90) are affected. Those who have already used these lenses may not be at significant risk if they followed proper handling and storage.

How to tell if you have this one

Check for the lot number B00NKM0G on the packaging of ACUVUE OASYS for ASTIGMATISM contact lenses. The specific model includes Base Curve 8.6 and Refractive Power -3.00D-1.25/90.

  • Brand
    Johnson & Johnson Vision Care
  • Category
    Medical device
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Packaging Details

    Look for the lot number B00NKM0G and model specifications (Base Curve 8.6, Refractive Power -3.00D-1.25/90) on the contact lens packaging.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed nationwide.

Alaska: yesAKMaine: yesMEVermont: yesVTNew Hampshire: yesNHWashington: yesWAIdaho: yesIDMontana: yesMTNorth Dakota: yesNDMinnesota: yesMNIllinois: yesILWisconsin: yesWIMichigan: yesMINew York: yesNYRhode Island: yesRIMassachusetts: yesMAOregon: yesORNevada: yesNVWyoming: yesWYSouth Dakota: yesSDIowa: yesIAIndiana: yesINOhio: yesOHPennsylvania: yesPANew Jersey: yesNJConnecticut: yesCTCalifornia: yesCAUtah: yesUTColorado: yesCONebraska: yesNEMissouri: yesMOKentucky: yesKYWest Virginia: yesWVVirginia: yesVAMaryland: yesMDDelaware: yesDEArizona: yesAZNew Mexico: yesNMKansas: yesKSArkansas: yesARTennessee: yesTNNorth Carolina: yesNCSouth Carolina: yesSCDistrict of Columbia: yesDCOklahoma: yesOKLouisiana: yesLAMississippi: yesMSAlabama: yesALGeorgia: yesGAHawaii: yesHITexas: yesTXFlorida: yesFL

FDA distribution: “Nationwide US.” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

Distributed nationwide.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 2.5 years after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Dec 18, 201712. FDA classified it Class II: Apr 17, 202023. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Apr 29, 202034. FDA terminated the recall: Jun 10, 2020420172020
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class II
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest medical device recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #Z-1744-2020 (December 18, 2017) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for Z-1744-2020 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3:4b on August 31, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA