Skip to content
Use caution Drug recall · FDA · Published June 15, 2015

Liberty Drug Recalls Vancomycin Eye Drops Due to Sterility Risk

Liberty Drug & Surgical recalls specific lots of Vancomycin 25 mg/mL ophthalmic solution due to lack of sterility assurance. Check lot numbers and expiration dates.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #D-1387-2015DrugLiberty Drug & Surgical ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmLiberty Drug & Surgical195 Main St · Chatham, NJ 07928-2405
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Liberty Drug & Surgical is recalling Vancomycin 25 mg/mL Ophthalmic Solution because process deficiencies could have compromised the sterility of the product. The recall affects specific lots distributed to physicians, medical facilities, and prescription patients in New Jersey and New York. The record does not specify a remedy or current action required for consumers. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/44151-liberty-drug-surgical-recalls-vancomycin-25-mg-ml-opthalmic-solution.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/44151-liberty-drug-surgical-recalls-vancomycin-25-mg-ml-opthalmic-solution · Updated October 12, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #D-1387-2015

Cite this page

“Liberty Drug Recalls Vancomycin Eye Drops Due to Sterility Risk.” GovInfoNow, updated October 12, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/44151-liberty-drug-surgical-recalls-vancomycin-25-mg-ml-opthalmic-solution. Based on FDA recall #D-1387-2015 (https://api.fda.gov/drug/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22D-1387-2015%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

Process deficiencies in manufacturing could have compromised the sterility of the eye drops. Using non-sterile ophthalmic solutions can lead to serious eye infections or other complications.

Who’s affected

Physicians, medical facilities, and prescription-specific patients in New Jersey and New York who received the recalled lots of Vancomycin ophthalmic solution.

How to tell if you have this one

Check if you have Vancomycin 25 mg/mL Ophthalmic Solution packaged in a 10 mL or 15 mL bottle from Liberty Drug Compound Center. Verify the lot number and expiration date against the record: Lot 06042015@15 (Exp 06/18/15), Lot 06052015@3 (Exp 06/19/15), or Lot 06082015@21 (Exp 06/22/15).

  • Brand
    Liberty Drug & Surgical
  • Category
    Drug
FDA recall event · 25 products

All 25 products in this recall

FDA lists each product line separately under one recall event. Check your product description, lot or code numbers against each row. Every row shares the hazard and remedy on this page.

  • Classification
    Class II
  • Status
    Terminated
  • Distribution
    Physicians, Medical Facilities, and Prescription Specific Patients in NJ and NY
Recall numberProduct, codes & lotsQuantity
D-1380-2015Cyanocobalamin 500 mcg/mL Injectable, 1 mL pre-filled syringe, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05152015@2, Exp 06/29/156 syringes
D-1381-2015Papaverine/Phentolamine/PGE-1 Injectable, 30 mg/1 mg/10 mcg/mL, 2.5 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05112015@19, Exp 06/25/152 vials
D-1382-2015Methylcobalamin 5000 mcg/mL Injectable, 2 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05152015@4, Exp 06/29/155 vials
D-1383-2015Papaverine/Phentolamine/Atropine/PGE-1 Injectable, 9 mg/1 mg/0.1 mg/10 mcg/mL, 2 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05192015@17, Exp 07/03/154 vials
D-1384-2015Papaverine/Phentolamine/PGE-1 Injectable, 30 mg/2 mg/20 mcg/mL, 2.5 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05282015@7, Exp 07/13/152 vials
D-1385-2015Papaverine/Phentolamine/PGE-1 Injectable, 10 mg/0.6 mg/10 mcg/mL, 2.5 mL vials, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05112015@3, Exp 06/25/15; 06012015@12, Exp 07/17/154 vials
D-1386-2015Papaverine/Phentolamine/PGE-1 Injectable, 20.8 mg/1.4 mg/14 mcg/mL, 2.5 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 06042015@9, Exp 07/19/152 vials
D-1387-2015Vancomycin 25 mg/mL Opthalmic Solution, packaged in a) 10 mL bottle and b) 15 mL bottle, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: a) 06042015@15, Exp 06/18/15; 06052015@3, Exp 06/19/15; b) 06082015@21, Exp 06/22/153 bottles
D-1388-2015Doxcycline/0.9% NaCl 150 mg/150 mL IV, 150 mL bag, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05122015@13, Exp 06/15/15; 05262015@17, 06082015@11, Exp 07/06/1588 bags
D-1389-2015Tobramycin 14 mg/mL Ophthalmic Solution, 15 mL bottle, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 06082015@20, Exp 06/22/151 bottle
D-1390-2015Doxycycline/0.9 % NaCl 100 mg/100 mL IV, 100 mL bag, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05142015@21, 05192015@22, 05282015@16, 06022015@18, 06102015@16, Exp 07/06/1558 bags
D-1391-201517-Hydroxyprogesterone 250 mg/mL Injectable, 5 mL multi-dose vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 03182015@8, Exp 07/31/15; 05112015@7, Exp 09/24/1585 vials
D-1392-2015Hydroxocobalamin (Preserved) 10,000 mcg/mL Injectable, 1 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 06082015@5, Exp 07/24/1515 vials
D-1393-2015Papervine/Phentolamine/PGE-1 Injectable, 30 mg/0.5 mg/30 mcg/mL, 2.5 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 06022015@5, Exp 07/17/152 vials
D-1394-2015Doxycycline/0.9% NaCl 150 mg/250 mL IV, 250 mL bag, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 0513215@12, 05192015@1, 05222015@14, 05222015@15, 05282015@17, 06012015@18, 06022015@19, 06052015@23, Exp 07/06/15112 bags
D-1395-2015Dexamethasone 24 mg/mL Injectable, 1 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05012015@1, Exp 06/15/15; 06022015@14, Exp 07/17/15; 06112015@10, Exp 07/26/1522 vials
D-1396-2015Morphine/0.9 % NaCl 1 mg/mL IV, 250 mL bag, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 06042015@11, Exp 07/19/15; 06102015@3, Exp 07/25/154 bags
D-1397-2015Glycerin (v/v) 72% Injection, 25 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05122015@6, Exp 06/26/151 vial
D-1398-2015Phenol 6% Injectable, 30 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 06032015@16, Exp 07/18/152 vials
D-1399-2015Methadone 10 mg/mL Injection, 10 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05012015@5, Exp 06/16/15; 05152015@10, Exp 06/30/155 vials
D-1400-2015Papaverine/Phentolamine/Atropine/PGE-1 Injectable, 75 mg/2.5 mg/0.1 mg/75 mcg/mL, 2.5 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 04202015@18, Exp 06/04/15; 05192015@16, Exp 07/03/156 vials
D-1401-2015Doxycycline/0.9% NaCl 300 mg/500 mL IV, 500 mL bag, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05142015@20, Exp 07/06/15; 05282015@15, Exp 07/06/1530 bags
D-1402-2015Hydroxocobalamin (Preserved) 1,000 mcg/mL Injectable, 1 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 06102015@15, Exp 07/25/156 vials
D-1403-2015Lidocaine/Sodium Chloride 0.4%/20% Injectable, 5 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05072015@4, Exp 06/21/155 vials
D-1404-2015Methylcobalamin 1,000 mcg/mL Injectable, 1.5 mL vial, Rx only, Liberty Drug Compound Center, 195 Main St., PO Box 267, Chatham, NJ 07928.; Lot #: 05072015@7, Exp 06/21/156 vials
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Your Medication

    Verify if your Vancomycin ophthalmic solution matches the recalled lot numbers and expiration dates listed in the record.

  2. Contact Your Provider

    Since the remedy is not stated, contact your prescribing physician or medical facility to determine if you should return or discard the product.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed in New Jersey and New York.

Alaska: not listedAKMaine: not listedMEVermont: not listedVTNew Hampshire: not listedNHWashington: not listedWAIdaho: not listedIDMontana: not listedMTNorth Dakota: not listedNDMinnesota: not listedMNIllinois: not listedILWisconsin: not listedWIMichigan: not listedMINew York: yesNYRhode Island: not listedRIMassachusetts: not listedMAOregon: not listedORNevada: not listedNVWyoming: not listedWYSouth Dakota: not listedSDIowa: not listedIAIndiana: not listedINOhio: not listedOHPennsylvania: not listedPANew Jersey: yesNJConnecticut: not listedCTCalifornia: not listedCAUtah: not listedUTColorado: not listedCONebraska: not listedNEMissouri: not listedMOKentucky: not listedKYWest Virginia: not listedWVVirginia: not listedVAMaryland: not listedMDDelaware: not listedDEArizona: not listedAZNew Mexico: not listedNMKansas: not listedKSArkansas: not listedARTennessee: not listedTNNorth Carolina: not listedNCSouth Carolina: not listedSCDistrict of Columbia: not listedDCOklahoma: not listedOKLouisiana: not listedLAMississippi: not listedMSAlabama: not listedALGeorgia: not listedGAHawaii: not listedHITexas: not listedTXFlorida: not listedFL

FDA distribution: “Physicians, Medical Facilities, and Prescription Specific Patients in NJ and NY” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

States: New Jersey, New York.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 2.9 years after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Jun 15, 201512. FDA classified it Class II: Aug 27, 201523. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Sep 2, 201534. FDA terminated the recall: Apr 23, 2018420152018
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class II
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest drug recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #D-1387-2015 (June 15, 2015) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for D-1387-2015 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 12, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA