Skip to content
Unrated Drug recall · FDA · Published June 1, 2016

Aidarex Chlorhexidine Oral Rinse Recall: Impurity Issue

Aidarex recalls specific lots of Chlorhexidine Gluco 0.12% Oral Rinse due to failed impurity specifications. Check your lot numbers immediately.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #D-0975-2016DrugAidarex Pharmaceuticals ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmAidarex Pharmaceuticals LLC595 N Smith Ave Ste B · Corona, CA 92880-6920
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Aidarex Pharmaceuticals LLC is recalling Chlorhexidine Gluco 0.12% Oral Rinse packaged in 473 mL bottles because the product failed to meet specifications for unknown impurities. The recall covers 292 bottles distributed across California, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, and Tennessee. The record does not specify what actions consumers should take or if there are known health risks associated with these impurities. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/42596-aidarex-chlorhexidine-oral-rinse-recall-impurity-issue.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/42596-aidarex-chlorhexidine-oral-rinse-recall-impurity-issue · Updated October 9, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #D-0975-2016

Cite this page

“Aidarex Chlorhexidine Oral Rinse Recall: Impurity Issue.” GovInfoNow, updated October 9, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/42596-aidarex-chlorhexidine-oral-rinse-recall-impurity-issue. Based on FDA recall #D-0975-2016 (https://api.fda.gov/drug/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22D-0975-2016%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The product failed impurity/degradation specifications by containing an unknown impurity. The specific health effects or danger mechanism of this impurity are not described in the provided record.

Who’s affected

Individuals who purchased Rx-only Chlorhexidine Gluco Oral Rinse from the specified states between the manufacturing dates and the recall date. The record does not specify which patient groups are most at risk.

How to tell if you have this one

Look for Chlorhexidine Gluco 0.12% Oral Rinse in 473 mL bottles, Rx only, manufactured by Hi-Tech Pharmacal Co., Inc. and packaged by Aidarex Pharmaceuticals. Check the NDC 33261-0447-01 and one of the following lot numbers: 45335-1, 46807-1, 44359-1, 44395-1, 44693-1, 44694-1, 43707-1, 47697-1, 48605-1, 48659-1, 47772-1, or 48271-1.

  • Brand
    Aidarex Pharmaceuticals
  • Category
    Drug

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed in 4 states.

Alaska: not listedAKMaine: not listedMEVermont: not listedVTNew Hampshire: not listedNHWashington: not listedWAIdaho: not listedIDMontana: not listedMTNorth Dakota: yesNDMinnesota: not listedMNIllinois: not listedILWisconsin: not listedWIMichigan: not listedMINew York: not listedNYRhode Island: not listedRIMassachusetts: not listedMAOregon: not listedORNevada: not listedNVWyoming: not listedWYSouth Dakota: not listedSDIowa: not listedIAIndiana: not listedINOhio: not listedOHPennsylvania: yesPANew Jersey: not listedNJConnecticut: not listedCTCalifornia: yesCAUtah: not listedUTColorado: not listedCONebraska: not listedNEMissouri: not listedMOKentucky: not listedKYWest Virginia: not listedWVVirginia: not listedVAMaryland: not listedMDDelaware: not listedDEArizona: not listedAZNew Mexico: not listedNMKansas: not listedKSArkansas: not listedARTennessee: yesTNNorth Carolina: not listedNCSouth Carolina: not listedSCDistrict of Columbia: not listedDCOklahoma: not listedOKLouisiana: not listedLAMississippi: not listedMSAlabama: not listedALGeorgia: not listedGAHawaii: not listedHITexas: not listedTXFlorida: not listedFL

FDA distribution: “U.S. including: CA, ND, PA, TN” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

States: California, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Tennessee.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 4 months after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Jun 1, 201612. FDA classified it Class II: Jun 8, 201623. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Jun 15, 201634. FDA terminated the recall: Oct 14, 201642016
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class II
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest drug recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #D-0975-2016 (June 1, 2016) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for D-0975-2016 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 9, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA