Skip to content
Use caution Drug recall · FDA · Published March 2, 2026

Taro Recalls Children's Ibuprofen Due to Foreign Substance

Taro recalls specific lots of Children's Ibuprofen Oral Suspension due to complaints of gel-like masses and black particles in the bottles.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #D-0390-2026DrugTaro ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmSTRIDES PHARMA INC200 Crossing Blvd Ste 110 · Bridgewater, NJ 08807-2861
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

Strides Pharma Inc is recalling Taro-branded Children's Ibuprofen Oral Suspension because customers reported finding foreign substances, specifically gel-like masses and black particles, inside the bottles. The recall covers 89,592 bottles distributed nationwide across the United States. The record does not specify a remedy or what consumers should do with the product. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/31466-taro-recalls-children-s-ibuprofen-due-to-foreign-substance.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/31466-taro-recalls-children-s-ibuprofen-due-to-foreign-substance · Updated October 9, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #D-0390-2026

Cite this page

“Taro Recalls Children's Ibuprofen Due to Foreign Substance.” GovInfoNow, updated October 9, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/31466-taro-recalls-children-s-ibuprofen-due-to-foreign-substance. Based on FDA recall #D-0390-2026 (https://api.fda.gov/drug/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22D-0390-2026%22&limit=1).

The FDA announced on March 2, 2026, that STRIDES PHARMA INC is recalling Children's Ibuprofen Oral Suspension manufactured for Taro due to the presence of foreign substances. Owners should contact the company for a refund.

How to tell if you have it

  • Brand: Taro
  • Product: Children's Ibuprofen Oral Suspension, USP, 100 mg per 5mL, 4 FL OZ (120 mL) bottle
  • NDC: 51672-5321-8
  • Lot codes: 7261973A, 7261974A
  • Expiration date: 01/31/2027
  • Quantity: 89,592 bottles

The hazard

The firm received complaints regarding a gel-like mass and black particles in the product. The recall is classified as Class II.

Context

GovInfoNow's records show STRIDES PHARMA INC has had 9 other recalls on record since May 9, 2017. Other recent recalls of similar products include Strides Pharma Cinacalcet Tablets 90mg Recall (July 9, 2025), Strides Pharma Testosterone Gel 1% Recall (March 5, 2025), and Strides Pharma recalls Methoxsalen Capsules due to failed dissolution specifications (Dec. 29, 2023). Other recent recalls of similar products include Graviti Furosemide Tablets Recall (Jan. 10, 2026), Guardian Drug Goodsense Ultra Strength Antacid Tablets Recall (May 28, 2026), and Lupin prednisolone acetate ophthalmic suspension recall (June 4, 2026).

How to tell if you have this one

Check your bottle for the brand 'Taro' and product name 'Children's Ibuprofen Oral Suspension, USP, 100 mg per 5mL'. Verify the NDC number 51672-5321-8 and check if the lot number is 7261973A or 7261974A with an expiration date of 01/31/2027.

  • Brand
    Taro
  • Category
    Drug
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Your Bottle

    Verify if your bottle matches the recalled brand, NDC, and lot numbers listed in the record.

  2. Contact Manufacturer

    Since the remedy is not stated in the record, contact Strides Pharma Inc or Taro Pharmaceuticals for instructions on what to do with the product.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed nationwide.

Alaska: yesAKMaine: yesMEVermont: yesVTNew Hampshire: yesNHWashington: yesWAIdaho: yesIDMontana: yesMTNorth Dakota: yesNDMinnesota: yesMNIllinois: yesILWisconsin: yesWIMichigan: yesMINew York: yesNYRhode Island: yesRIMassachusetts: yesMAOregon: yesORNevada: yesNVWyoming: yesWYSouth Dakota: yesSDIowa: yesIAIndiana: yesINOhio: yesOHPennsylvania: yesPANew Jersey: yesNJConnecticut: yesCTCalifornia: yesCAUtah: yesUTColorado: yesCONebraska: yesNEMissouri: yesMOKentucky: yesKYWest Virginia: yesWVVirginia: yesVAMaryland: yesMDDelaware: yesDEArizona: yesAZNew Mexico: yesNMKansas: yesKSArkansas: yesARTennessee: yesTNNorth Carolina: yesNCSouth Carolina: yesSCDistrict of Columbia: yesDCOklahoma: yesOKLouisiana: yesLAMississippi: yesMSAlabama: yesALGeorgia: yesGAHawaii: yesHITexas: yesTXFlorida: yesFL

FDA distribution: “U.S.A. Nationwide” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

Distributed nationwide.

Recall timeline

FDA published this recall 23 days after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Mar 2, 202612. FDA classified it Class II: Mar 16, 202623. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Mar 25, 202632026
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class II
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest drug recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #D-0390-2026 (March 2, 2026) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for D-0390-2026 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 9, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA