Skip to content
Stop using now Food recall · FDA · Published February 29, 2016

Linda's Salsa Hot Recall: Insanitary Conditions Risk

Flowers For Less recalls Linda's Salsa Hot in 16 oz. jars due to insanitary production conditions. Check your batch number.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-0809-2016FoodLinda's Salsa ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmFlowers For Less1343 S Main St · Monmouth, IL 61462-2607
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Flowers For Less is recalling Linda's Salsa Hot sold in 16 oz. glass jars because the products were produced under insanitary conditions following a breach in security. Only 71 units were distributed to retail stores in Illinois. The record does not specify what consumers should do with the product. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/25147-linda-s-salsa-hot-recall-insanitary-conditions-risk.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/25147-linda-s-salsa-hot-recall-insanitary-conditions-risk · Updated October 11, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-0809-2016

Cite this page

“Linda's Salsa Hot Recall: Insanitary Conditions Risk.” GovInfoNow, updated October 11, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/25147-linda-s-salsa-hot-recall-insanitary-conditions-risk. Based on FDA recall #F-0809-2016 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-0809-2016%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The product was produced under insanitary conditions due to a security breach. This raises the risk of foodborne illness or contamination, although specific injuries are not detailed in the record.

Who’s affected

Consumers who purchased Linda's Salsa Hot from retail stores in Illinois are likely affected. No specific demographic is identified as being at higher risk, though anyone consuming the salsa could be exposed to contamination.

How to tell if you have this one

Look for Linda's Salsa Hot in 16 oz. glass jars with batch number 96123015. The product was distributed to retail stores in Illinois only.

  • Brand
    Linda's Salsa
  • Category
    Food
FDA recall event · 4 products

All 4 products in this recall

FDA lists each product line separately under one recall event. Check your product description, lot or code numbers against each row. Every row shares the hazard and remedy on this page.

  • Classification
    Class II
  • Status
    Terminated
  • Distribution
    Distributed to retail stores in Illinois only.
Recall numberProduct, codes & lotsQuantity
F-0807-2016Linda's Salsa Mild in 16 oz. glass jars; Batch numbers 116122915 and 117123115129 units
F-0808-2016Linda's Salsa Medium in 16 oz. glass jars; Batch number 13412301576 units
F-0809-2016Linda's Salsa Hot in 16 oz. glass jars; Batch number 9612301571 units
F-0810-2016Linda's Black Bean and Corn Salsa in 16 oz. glass jars; Batch number 8912301558 units
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Your Product

    Verify if you have Linda's Salsa Hot in a 16 oz. glass jar with batch number 96123015.

  2. Contact the Manufacturer

    Since the remedy is not stated, contact Flowers For Less for instructions on what to do with the product.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed in Illinois.

Alaska: not listedAKMaine: not listedMEVermont: not listedVTNew Hampshire: not listedNHWashington: not listedWAIdaho: not listedIDMontana: not listedMTNorth Dakota: not listedNDMinnesota: not listedMNIllinois: yesILWisconsin: not listedWIMichigan: not listedMINew York: not listedNYRhode Island: not listedRIMassachusetts: not listedMAOregon: not listedORNevada: not listedNVWyoming: not listedWYSouth Dakota: not listedSDIowa: not listedIAIndiana: not listedINOhio: not listedOHPennsylvania: not listedPANew Jersey: not listedNJConnecticut: not listedCTCalifornia: not listedCAUtah: not listedUTColorado: not listedCONebraska: not listedNEMissouri: not listedMOKentucky: not listedKYWest Virginia: not listedWVVirginia: not listedVAMaryland: not listedMDDelaware: not listedDEArizona: not listedAZNew Mexico: not listedNMKansas: not listedKSArkansas: not listedARTennessee: not listedTNNorth Carolina: not listedNCSouth Carolina: not listedSCDistrict of Columbia: not listedDCOklahoma: not listedOKLouisiana: not listedLAMississippi: not listedMSAlabama: not listedALGeorgia: not listedGAHawaii: not listedHITexas: not listedTXFlorida: not listedFL

FDA distribution: “Distributed to retail stores in Illinois only.” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

States: Illinois.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 3 months after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Feb 29, 201612. FDA classified it Class II: Mar 25, 201623. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Apr 6, 201634. FDA terminated the recall: May 16, 201642016
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class II
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest food recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-0809-2016 (February 29, 2016) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-0809-2016 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 11, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA