Skip to content
Stop using now Food recall · FDA · Published June 3, 2016

NatureBox Recalls Country Ranch Sunflower Kernels Due to Listeria Risk

NatureBox, Inc. is recalling Country Ranch Sunflower kernels due to potential Listeria Monocytogenes contamination. Check your UPC and best before dates.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-1525-2016FoodNatureBox ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmNatureBox, Inc.100 Redwood Shores Pkwy Fl 2 · Redwood City, CA 94065-1155
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

NatureBox, Inc. is recalling its Country Ranch Sunflower kernels because a supplier notified the firm that the sunflower seeds are being recalled due to Listeria Monocytogenes. The affected items are 5 oz. (142g) customer stand-up pouches distributed nationwide via online purchase. The record does not specify the number of units or provide a remedy for consumers. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/24156-naturebox-recalls-country-ranch-sunflower-kernels-due-to-listeria-risk.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/24156-naturebox-recalls-country-ranch-sunflower-kernels-due-to-listeria-risk · Updated October 9, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-1525-2016

Cite this page

“NatureBox Recalls Country Ranch Sunflower Kernels Due to Listeria Risk.” GovInfoNow, updated October 9, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/24156-naturebox-recalls-country-ranch-sunflower-kernels-due-to-listeria-risk. Based on FDA recall #F-1525-2016 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-1525-2016%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

Listeria Monocytogenes is a bacteria that can cause serious infections in humans. Infection can lead to symptoms such as fever, muscle aches, and gastrointestinal issues, and may be life-threatening for vulnerable populations.

Who’s affected

Consumers who purchased NatureBox Country Ranch Sunflower kernels directly from the company through its online store are likely affected. Individuals with compromised immune systems, pregnant women, older adults, and young children are at higher risk for serious infection from Listeria.

How to tell if you have this one

Check if you have NatureBox Country Ranch Sunflower kernels in a 5 oz. (142g) customer stand-up pouch with UPC 8 52523 00535 8. Verify the lot number is 8H5M25 and the Best Before Date is one of: 05/18/16, 06/10/16, 08/25/16, 5/9/16, or 7/15/16.

  • Brand
    NatureBox
  • Product
    NatureBox Country Ranch Sunflower kernels; 5 oz. (142g) customer stand up pouch. UPC: 8 52523 00535 8 Ingredients
  • Category
    Food
FDA recall event · 3 products

All 3 products in this recall

FDA lists each product line separately under one recall event. Check your product description, lot or code numbers against each row. Every row shares the hazard and remedy on this page.

  • Classification
    Class I
  • Status
    Terminated
  • Distribution
    Nationwide directly to consumers through online purchase.
Recall numberProduct, codes & lotsQuantity
F-1525-2016NatureBox Country Ranch Sunflower kernels; 5 oz. (142g) customer stand up pouch. UPC: 8 52523 00535 8 Ingredients: Sunflower kernels, Sunflower Oil, Buttermilk Powder, Salt, Rice Syrup Solids, Onion and Garlic, Sour Cream Powder (cultured milk, nonfat milk), Tomato Powder, Cheese Powder (cheddar cheese, cultures pasteurized milk, salt, enzymes), Torula Yeast, natural Flavors, Corn Flour, Citric Acid, Parsley. Green Bell Pepper Powder, Silicon Dioxide. Contains: Milk. Distributed by NatureBox, San Carlos, CA 94070; Lot 8H5M25; Best Before Dates: 05/18/16, 06/10/16, 08/25/16,5/9/16, 7/15/16.14, 941 x 5 oz. pouches.
F-1564-2016NatureBox Cheddar and Onion Sunflower kernels: 5 oz. (142g) customer stand up pouch. UPC: 8 54557 00531 1 Ingredients: Non GMO Sunflower kernels, Sunflower Oil, Sweet Onion and White Cheddar Seasoning Blend (cane sugar, onion and garlic powder, cheddar cheese powder {cheddar cheese (pasteurized milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes), buttermilk, whey, salt, disodium phosphate}, salt, natural flavors, lactic acid, spices, silicon dioxide (to prevent caking). Contains: Milk. Distributed by NatureBox, San Carlos, CA 94070; Lot 8H5M26: Best Before dates: 03/29/16, 04/27/16, 05/09/16, 05/18/16, 06/10/16, 07/11/16, 07/19/16, 08/15/16, 08/26/16, 09/17/16.22,231 x 5 oz. pouches.
F-1565-2016SunOpta Country Ranch Sunflower Kernels- 45lbs case 6075 lbs received (35 cases); not provided1305 lbs. (29 cases)
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check your product

    Verify if you have the recalled NatureBox Country Ranch Sunflower kernels by checking the UPC, lot number, and best before dates listed in the record.

  2. Contact the manufacturer

    Since the remedy is not stated in the record, contact NatureBox, Inc. directly for instructions on returns or refunds.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed nationwide.

Alaska: yesAKMaine: yesMEVermont: yesVTNew Hampshire: yesNHWashington: yesWAIdaho: yesIDMontana: yesMTNorth Dakota: yesNDMinnesota: yesMNIllinois: yesILWisconsin: yesWIMichigan: yesMINew York: yesNYRhode Island: yesRIMassachusetts: yesMAOregon: yesORNevada: yesNVWyoming: yesWYSouth Dakota: yesSDIowa: yesIAIndiana: yesINOhio: yesOHPennsylvania: yesPANew Jersey: yesNJConnecticut: yesCTCalifornia: yesCAUtah: yesUTColorado: yesCONebraska: yesNEMissouri: yesMOKentucky: yesKYWest Virginia: yesWVVirginia: yesVAMaryland: yesMDDelaware: yesDEArizona: yesAZNew Mexico: yesNMKansas: yesKSArkansas: yesARTennessee: yesTNNorth Carolina: yesNCSouth Carolina: yesSCDistrict of Columbia: yesDCOklahoma: yesOKLouisiana: yesLAMississippi: yesMSAlabama: yesALGeorgia: yesGAHawaii: yesHITexas: yesTXFlorida: yesFL

FDA distribution: “Nationwide directly to consumers through online purchase.” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

Distributed nationwide.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 34 days after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Jun 3, 201612. FDA classified it Class I: Jun 18, 201623. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Jun 29, 201634. FDA terminated the recall: Jul 7, 201642016
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class I
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest food recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-1525-2016 (June 3, 2016) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-1525-2016 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 9, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA