Kill Cliff Protein Bar Recall: Mold Hazard in Strawberries & Cream Bars
Kill Cliff recalls KC Strawberries & Cream Protein Bars due to potential mold contamination. Check your UPC and use-by date for details.
Stop using this now
Product may contain mold. Recall started on 6/21/16
Contact the company
What happened, in plain English
Kill Cliff is recalling KC (Kill Cliff) Strawberries & Cream Protein Bars because the product may contain mold. The recall affects 43,788 bars distributed across multiple U.S. states as well as international accounts in Europe and the Pacific. Consumers should check their products against the specific identification details provided. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/23934-kill-cliff-protein-bar-recall-mold-hazard-in-strawberries-cream.
Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/23934-kill-cliff-protein-bar-recall-mold-hazard-in-strawberries-cream · Updated October 9, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-2246-2016
Cite this page
“Kill Cliff Protein Bar Recall: Mold Hazard in Strawberries & Cream Bars.” GovInfoNow, updated October 9, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/23934-kill-cliff-protein-bar-recall-mold-hazard-in-strawberries-cream. Based on FDA recall #F-2246-2016 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-2246-2016%22&limit=1).
Why it’s dangerous
The recalled protein bars may contain mold, which poses a health risk if consumed. While the record does not specify the exact type of mold or resulting illness, the presence of mold in food products generally necessitates avoiding consumption to prevent potential adverse health effects.
Who’s affected
Consumers who purchased KC (Kill Cliff) Strawberries & Cream Protein Bars, specifically those with UPC code 896743002124 and a use-by date of July 16, 2016. The affected bars were sold in states including Alabama, California, Florida, New York, Texas, and others, as well as to international accounts.
How to tell if you have this one
Look for KC (Kill Cliff) Strawberries & Cream Protein Bars that are 2.1oz (60g) individually wrapped bars. The specific item has UPC code 896743002124 and a use-by date of 16July2016. These bars were sold in cases of 12 bars.
- Brand
Kill Cliff- Product
KC (Kill Cliff) Strawberries & Cream Protein Bars, 2.1oz (60g) individually wrapped bar (in cases of 12-2.1 oz (60g)- Category
Food
What to do — step by step
Stop consuming the product
Do not eat the recalled KC (Kill Cliff) Strawberries & Cream Protein Bars due to the potential for mold contamination.
Check your product details
Verify if you have the affected bars by checking for UPC code 896743002124 and a use-by date of 16July2016.
Contact manufacturer for remedy
The recall record does not specify the current remedy or return process; consumers should contact Kill Cliff directly for further instructions on disposal or refund.
Where it went and when
Where it was distributed
Distributed in 40 states, and outside the U.S.
FDA distribution: “AL, AR, AZ, CA, CT, DE, FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, IIO, KS, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MS, MO, NC, ND, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NV, OH, OK, OR, PA, SC, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WI and WY; International accounts: Europe and the Pacific.” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.
States: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming.
Recall timeline
FDA terminated this recall 14 months after the firm started it.
- Firm started the recall
- FDA classified it Class II
- Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
- FDA terminated the recall
Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.
Questions people ask
How many bars are affected by this recall?
Approximately 43,788 bars are included in this recall.
Similar recalls
Latest food recalls
Keep exploring
Where this comes from
The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.
- Official source: FDA Recall #F-2246-2016 (June 21, 2016) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-2246-2016 to see it in context.
- Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 9, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
- GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.