Skip to content
Stop using now Food recall · FDA · Published October 12, 2016

Ben & Jerry's Brownie Batter Core Ice Cream Recall: Plastic Hazard

Unilever recalls certain pints of Ben & Jerry's Brownie Batter Core Ice Cream due to potential soft plastic pieces. Check your carton for affected UPCs and dates.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-0833-2017FoodBen & Jerry's ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmUnilever United States, Inc.800 Sylvan Ave · Englewood Cliffs, NJ 07632-3113
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Unilever United States, Inc. is recalling certain pints of Ben & Jerry’s Brownie Batter Core Ice Cream One Pint (473 mL) because they may contain soft plastic pieces. This recall affects 194,952 units distributed nationwide. The record does not specify the remedy or what consumers should do with the product. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/23011-ben-jerry-s-brownie-batter-core-ice-cream-recall-plastic.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/23011-ben-jerry-s-brownie-batter-core-ice-cream-recall-plastic · Updated October 11, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-0833-2017

Cite this page

“Ben & Jerry's Brownie Batter Core Ice Cream Recall: Plastic Hazard.” GovInfoNow, updated October 11, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/23011-ben-jerry-s-brownie-batter-core-ice-cream-recall-plastic. Based on FDA recall #F-0833-2017 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-0833-2017%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The hazard is that certain pints may contain soft plastic pieces mixed into the ice cream. Ingesting plastic can pose a choking or internal injury risk, though the record does not detail specific injuries.

Who’s affected

Consumers across the United States who purchased Ben & Jerry’s Brownie Batter Core Ice Cream One Pint (473 mL) paper cartons. Individuals are at risk if they consume ice cream containing soft plastic pieces.

How to tell if you have this one

Check your carton for the brand Ben & Jerry’s and the product name Brownie Batter Core Ice Cream One Pint (473 mL). Look for Consumer UPC 7684052987 or Case UPC 10076840529879. Affected items are paper cartons with Best by dates of MAR0418BJ or MAR0518BJ.

  • Brand
    Ben & Jerry's
  • Product
    Ben & Jerry s Brownie Batter Core Ice Cream One Pint (473 mL). Case UPC- 10076840529879 Consumer UPC - 7684052987 Paper
  • Category
    Food
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Your Product

    Verify if your ice cream matches the brand, product name, UPCs (7684052987 or 10076840529879), and Best by dates (MAR0418BJ or MAR0518BJ).

  2. Review Official Guidance

    The provided record does not state a specific remedy, return process, or disposal instruction.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed nationwide.

Alaska: yesAKMaine: yesMEVermont: yesVTNew Hampshire: yesNHWashington: yesWAIdaho: yesIDMontana: yesMTNorth Dakota: yesNDMinnesota: yesMNIllinois: yesILWisconsin: yesWIMichigan: yesMINew York: yesNYRhode Island: yesRIMassachusetts: yesMAOregon: yesORNevada: yesNVWyoming: yesWYSouth Dakota: yesSDIowa: yesIAIndiana: yesINOhio: yesOHPennsylvania: yesPANew Jersey: yesNJConnecticut: yesCTCalifornia: yesCAUtah: yesUTColorado: yesCONebraska: yesNEMissouri: yesMOKentucky: yesKYWest Virginia: yesWVVirginia: yesVAMaryland: yesMDDelaware: yesDEArizona: yesAZNew Mexico: yesNMKansas: yesKSArkansas: yesARTennessee: yesTNNorth Carolina: yesNCSouth Carolina: yesSCDistrict of Columbia: yesDCOklahoma: yesOKLouisiana: yesLAMississippi: yesMSAlabama: yesALGeorgia: yesGAHawaii: yesHITexas: yesTXFlorida: yesFL

FDA distribution: “Nationwide” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

Distributed nationwide.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 4.2 years after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Oct 12, 201612. FDA classified it Class II: Dec 21, 201623. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Dec 28, 201634. FDA terminated the recall: Jan 8, 2021420162021
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class II
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Other Ben & Jerry's recalls

Latest food recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-0833-2017 (October 12, 2016) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-0833-2017 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 11, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA