Skip to content
Stop using now Food recall · FDA · Published April 5, 2017

Oberlander Bakery Recalls Chocolate Kokosh Cake for Undeclared Almonds

Oberlander Baking Co. recalls 16 oz Gluten Free Chocolate Kokosh Cakes due to undeclared almonds, posing allergy risks in CA, FL, MD, IL, NJ, and NY.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-2221-2017FoodOberlander Bakery ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmOberlander Baking Co555 Cortlandt St · Belleville, NJ 07109-3329
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Oberlander Baking Co. is recalling Oberlander Bakery Gluten Free Brand Chocolate Kokosh Cake (Net Wt. 16 oz.) because the product may contain undeclared almonds. This is significant for anyone with an almond allergy, as consuming undeclared allergens can cause serious allergic reactions. The recall affects 187 cartons distributed in California, Florida, Maryland, Illinois, New Jersey, and New York. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/21887-oberlander-bakery-recalls-chocolate-kokosh-cake-for-undeclared-almonds.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/21887-oberlander-bakery-recalls-chocolate-kokosh-cake-for-undeclared-almonds · Updated October 11, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-2221-2017

Cite this page

“Oberlander Bakery Recalls Chocolate Kokosh Cake for Undeclared Almonds.” GovInfoNow, updated October 11, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/21887-oberlander-bakery-recalls-chocolate-kokosh-cake-for-undeclared-almonds. Based on FDA recall #F-2221-2017 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-2221-2017%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The cake is labeled as gluten-free but may contain undeclared almonds. For individuals with tree nut allergies, ingesting even small amounts of undeclared almonds can trigger severe allergic reactions, including anaphylaxis, which can be life-threatening.

Who’s affected

Consumers who purchased the recalled cake, particularly those with almond allergies or sensitivities. Individuals who bought the product at retailers in CA, FL, MD, IL, NJ, and NY are most likely affected.

How to tell if you have this one

Check for Oberlander Bakery Gluten Free Brand Chocolate Kokosh Cake in a 16 oz package. Look for the UPC code 43711 18093 7 on the packaging. The product was manufactured by Orthodox Baking Co. Inc. in Belleville, NJ, and had a last date of sale of April 30 (year not specified in record).

  • Brand
    Oberlander Bakery
  • Product
    Oberlander Bakery Gluten Free Brand Chocolate Kokosh Cake Net Wt. 16 oz. Manufactured by: Orthodox Baking Co. Inc
  • Category
    Food
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Stop consuming the cake

    Do not eat the product if you have an almond allergy or suspect it may contain undeclared almonds.

  2. Check your packaging

    Verify if you have the recalled item by checking for the UPC 43711 18093 7 and the brand name Oberlander Bakery Gluten Free Brand.

  3. Contact the manufacturer

    The record does not specify a return or refund process; contact Oberlander Baking Co. for further instructions on disposal or reimbursement.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed in 6 states.

Alaska: not listedAKMaine: not listedMEVermont: not listedVTNew Hampshire: not listedNHWashington: not listedWAIdaho: not listedIDMontana: not listedMTNorth Dakota: not listedNDMinnesota: not listedMNIllinois: yesILWisconsin: not listedWIMichigan: not listedMINew York: yesNYRhode Island: not listedRIMassachusetts: not listedMAOregon: not listedORNevada: not listedNVWyoming: not listedWYSouth Dakota: not listedSDIowa: not listedIAIndiana: not listedINOhio: not listedOHPennsylvania: not listedPANew Jersey: yesNJConnecticut: not listedCTCalifornia: yesCAUtah: not listedUTColorado: not listedCONebraska: not listedNEMissouri: not listedMOKentucky: not listedKYWest Virginia: not listedWVVirginia: not listedVAMaryland: yesMDDelaware: not listedDEArizona: not listedAZNew Mexico: not listedNMKansas: not listedKSArkansas: not listedARTennessee: not listedTNNorth Carolina: not listedNCSouth Carolina: not listedSCDistrict of Columbia: not listedDCOklahoma: not listedOKLouisiana: not listedLAMississippi: not listedMSAlabama: not listedALGeorgia: not listedGAHawaii: not listedHITexas: not listedTXFlorida: yesFL

FDA distribution: “CA, FL , MD, IL, NJ and NY” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

States: California, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, New Jersey, New York.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 5 months after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Apr 5, 201712. FDA classified it Class I: May 12, 201723. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: May 24, 201734. FDA terminated the recall: Aug 22, 201742017
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class I
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest food recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-2221-2017 (April 5, 2017) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-2221-2017 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 11, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA