Skip to content
Lower risk Food recall · FDA · Published September 14, 2017

Shawnee Mills Peppered Gravy Mix Recall: Foreign Material Risk

Shawnee Mills recalls peppered gravy mix due to potential foreign material. Consumers should check product dates and contact for details.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-3576-2017FoodShawnee Mills ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmShawnee Milling Company, Inc.201 S Broadway Ave · Shawnee, OK 74801-8427
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Shawnee Mills is recalling peppered gravy mixes that may contain foreign material. This could pose a risk of ingestion of foreign objects, though the recall does not specify injury details. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/20431-shawnee-mills-peppered-gravy-mix-recall-foreign-material-risk.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/20431-shawnee-mills-peppered-gravy-mix-recall-foreign-material-risk · Updated October 7, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-3576-2017

Cite this page

“Shawnee Mills Peppered Gravy Mix Recall: Foreign Material Risk.” GovInfoNow, updated October 7, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/20431-shawnee-mills-peppered-gravy-mix-recall-foreign-material-risk. Based on FDA recall #F-3576-2017 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-3576-2017%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The product may contain foreign material that could be ingested. This poses a risk of consuming foreign objects, though the recall does not specify injury details.

Who’s affected

Anyone who purchased Shawnee Mills Peppered Gravy Mix in 2.75 oz or 24 oz sizes between September 2018 and March 2019. People preparing food with this product are most at risk.

How to tell if you have this one

Check for product sizes of 2.75 oz or 24 oz. The recall covers products sold from September 7-11, 2018 through March 7-11, 2019.

  • Brand
    Shawnee Mills
  • Category
    Food
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Product Dates

    Look for the product's date of manufacture on the packaging.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed in 7 states.

Alaska: not listedAKMaine: not listedMEVermont: not listedVTNew Hampshire: not listedNHWashington: not listedWAIdaho: not listedIDMontana: not listedMTNorth Dakota: not listedNDMinnesota: not listedMNIllinois: not listedILWisconsin: not listedWIMichigan: not listedMINew York: not listedNYRhode Island: not listedRIMassachusetts: not listedMAOregon: not listedORNevada: not listedNVWyoming: not listedWYSouth Dakota: not listedSDIowa: not listedIAIndiana: not listedINOhio: not listedOHPennsylvania: not listedPANew Jersey: not listedNJConnecticut: not listedCTCalifornia: not listedCAUtah: not listedUTColorado: not listedCONebraska: not listedNEMissouri: yesMOKentucky: not listedKYWest Virginia: not listedWVVirginia: not listedVAMaryland: not listedMDDelaware: not listedDEArizona: not listedAZNew Mexico: not listedNMKansas: not listedKSArkansas: yesARTennessee: yesTNNorth Carolina: not listedNCSouth Carolina: not listedSCDistrict of Columbia: not listedDCOklahoma: yesOKLouisiana: not listedLAMississippi: yesMSAlabama: yesALGeorgia: not listedGAHawaii: not listedHITexas: yesTXFlorida: not listedFL

FDA distribution: “TX, AL, AR, MS, MO, OK, TN” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

States: Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 3 months after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Sep 14, 201712. FDA classified it Class II: Sep 28, 201723. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Oct 4, 201734. FDA terminated the recall: Dec 7, 201742017
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class II
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest food recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-3576-2017 (September 14, 2017) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-3576-2017 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3:4b on October 7, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA