Skip to content
Stop using now Food recall · FDA · Published May 15, 2019

Karawan Tahini Recall: Salmonella Risk in 3kg Boxes

Brodt Zanatti Holding Llc recalls Karawan and SoCo tahini due to Salmonella. Check your pantry for affected boxes.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-1521-2019FoodKarawan ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmBrodt Zanatti Holding Llc19311 N Riverside Dr · Jupiter, FL 33469-2554
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Brodt Zanatti Holding Llc is recalling Karawan brand Tahini (3kg/105.822 oz) because samples tested positive for Salmonella. The recall was also expanded to cover SoCo brand Tahini. No specific remedy or expiration date restrictions are listed in the record. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/17483-karawan-tahini-recall-salmonella-risk-in-3kg-boxes.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/17483-karawan-tahini-recall-salmonella-risk-in-3kg-boxes · Updated October 11, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-1521-2019

Cite this page

“Karawan Tahini Recall: Salmonella Risk in 3kg Boxes.” GovInfoNow, updated October 11, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/17483-karawan-tahini-recall-salmonella-risk-in-3kg-boxes. Based on FDA recall #F-1521-2019 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-1521-2019%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The tahini tested positive for Salmonella, a bacterium that causes foodborne illness. Ingestion can lead to symptoms such as fever, diarrhea, and abdominal cramps, which can be severe for vulnerable populations.

Who’s affected

Consumers who purchased Karawan Tahini (3kg) or SoCo brand Tahini distributed domestically. Individuals at risk include anyone consuming the product, as Salmonella can cause serious illness.

How to tell if you have this one

Look for Karawan brand Tahini in 3kg (105.822 oz) boxes with the expiration date on the lid. Also check for SoCo brand Tahini. The record does not specify specific lot numbers or sale dates, only that distribution was domestic.

  • Brand
    Karawan
  • Category
    Food
FDA recall event · 4 products

All 4 products in this recall

FDA lists each product line separately under one recall event. Check your product description, lot or code numbers against each row. Every row shares the hazard and remedy on this page.

  • Classification
    Class I
  • Status
    Terminated
  • Distribution
    Domestic distribution only.
Recall numberProduct, codes & lotsQuantity
F-1518-2019Karawan, 100% Raw Ethiopian Sesame Seeds, Net Weight: 17 Kg (599.6 oz); All expiration dates. Expiration date located on lid.1470 buckets
F-1519-2019Karawan, 100% Pure Sesame Seeds, Net Weight: 450g (15.87 oz); All expiration dates. Expiration date located on lid.50 boxes/24 units per box
F-1520-2019Tahini SoCo Seeds of Collaboration, 100% Stone Ground Sesame Seeds, Net WT. 13.4oz (380g); All expiration dates. Expiration date located on lid.66 boxes/12 units per box
F-1521-2019Karawan Tahini, Net Weight: 3Kg (105.822 oz); All expiration dates. Expiration date located on lid.54 boxes
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Stop consuming the product

    Do not eat Karawan Tahini (3kg) or SoCo Tahini due to Salmonella contamination.

  2. Discard or return items

    The record does not specify a remedy, so consumers should contact the manufacturer or retailer for instructions on disposal or refund.

How this recall unfolded

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 9 months after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: May 15, 201912. FDA classified it Class I: Jun 27, 201923. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Jul 3, 201934. FDA terminated the recall: Feb 11, 2020420192020
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class I
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

✎ GovInfoNow

Questions people ask

Are there specific expiration dates affected?

The record states 'All expiration dates' are included in the recall for the Karawan Tahini 3kg product.

Similar recalls

Latest food recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-1521-2019 (May 15, 2019) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-1521-2019 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 11, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA