Skip to content
Use caution Food recall · FDA · Published February 11, 2020

Don Lee Farms Recalls Chipotle Black Bean Burgers Due to Unapproved Herbicide

Don Lee Farms recalls specific lots of Chipotle Black Bean Burgers because an ingredient was grown with unapproved herbicide. Check your UPC and item numbers.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-0768-2020FoodDon Lee Farms ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmDon Lee Farms812 S 5th Ave · Mansfield, TX 76063-2210
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Don Lee Farms is recalling certain cartons of Chipotle Black Bean Burgers because an ingredient used in the finished product was discovered to have been grown using an unapproved herbicide. The recall covers specific production lots distributed in California, Illinois, Washington, Michigan, Utah, and Arizona. No other health risks or injuries are mentioned in the record. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/15935-don-lee-farms-recalls-chipotle-black-bean-burgers-due-to.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/15935-don-lee-farms-recalls-chipotle-black-bean-burgers-due-to · Updated October 11, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-0768-2020

Cite this page

“Don Lee Farms Recalls Chipotle Black Bean Burgers Due to Unapproved Herbicide.” GovInfoNow, updated October 11, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/15935-don-lee-farms-recalls-chipotle-black-bean-burgers-due-to. Based on FDA recall #F-0768-2020 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-0768-2020%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The hazard involves an ingredient that was grown using an unapproved herbicide. While the record does not specify the exact health consequences of consuming this ingredient, the use of unapproved agricultural chemicals is the basis for the recall.

Who’s affected

Consumers who purchased Don Lee Farms Chipotle Black Bean Burgers in cartons from California, Illinois, Washington, Michigan, Utah, or Arizona are affected. The risk is limited to those who bought the specific items and production lots listed below.

How to tell if you have this one

Check your product for the following details: Item 1372617 with UPC 087427438135 (12 pack/3Lbs. cartons), or Item 997176SF with UPC 087427430757 (10 pack/2.5 lb. cartons). Verify the production lot numbers: 20191220T, 20191219T, 20200116T, 20200117T, or 20200122T.

  • Brand
    Don Lee Farms
  • Product
    Don Lee Farms Chipotle Black Bean Burger 12 pack/3Lbs. cartons UPC 087427438135, Item 1372617 Don Lee Farms Chipotle
  • Category
    Food
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Product Details

    Verify if your product matches the Item numbers (1372617 or 997176SF), UPCs, and production lot numbers listed in the recall record.

  2. Contact Manufacturer

    The provided record does not state a specific remedy, return process, or contact information for consumers to follow up on this recall.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed in 6 states.

Alaska: not listedAKMaine: not listedMEVermont: not listedVTNew Hampshire: not listedNHWashington: yesWAIdaho: not listedIDMontana: not listedMTNorth Dakota: not listedNDMinnesota: not listedMNIllinois: yesILWisconsin: not listedWIMichigan: yesMINew York: not listedNYRhode Island: not listedRIMassachusetts: not listedMAOregon: not listedORNevada: not listedNVWyoming: not listedWYSouth Dakota: not listedSDIowa: not listedIAIndiana: not listedINOhio: not listedOHPennsylvania: not listedPANew Jersey: not listedNJConnecticut: not listedCTCalifornia: yesCAUtah: yesUTColorado: not listedCONebraska: not listedNEMissouri: not listedMOKentucky: not listedKYWest Virginia: not listedWVVirginia: not listedVAMaryland: not listedMDDelaware: not listedDEArizona: yesAZNew Mexico: not listedNMKansas: not listedKSArkansas: not listedARTennessee: not listedTNNorth Carolina: not listedNCSouth Carolina: not listedSCDistrict of Columbia: not listedDCOklahoma: not listedOKLouisiana: not listedLAMississippi: not listedMSAlabama: not listedALGeorgia: not listedGAHawaii: not listedHITexas: not listedTXFlorida: not listedFL

FDA distribution: “CA, IL, WA, MI, UT, AZ” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

States: Arizona, California, Illinois, Michigan, Utah, Washington.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 56 days after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Feb 11, 202012. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Feb 26, 202023. FDA classified it Class III: Mar 3, 202034. FDA terminated the recall: Apr 7, 202042020
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  3. FDA classified it Class III
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest food recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-0768-2020 (February 11, 2020) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-0768-2020 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 11, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA