Skip to content
Use caution Food recall · FDA · Published April 8, 2021

Natrol Melatonin Recall: Wrong Product Labeling Hazard

Natrol recalls specific lots of Melatonin 3 mg tablets due to mislabeling. Check your bottle's lot number and expiration date for details.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-0479-2021FoodNatrol ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmNatrol, LLC21411 Prairie St · Chatsworth, CA 91311-5829
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Natrol, LLC is recalling a specific lot of Natrol Melatonin 3 mg tablets because the product was mislabeled. The recalled bottles were labeled as Melatonin 3 mg but actually contained ALA 300 mg Cap-50. This error affects approximately 12,740 units distributed across several U.S. states and other countries. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/14711-natrol-melatonin-recall-wrong-product-labeling-hazard.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/14711-natrol-melatonin-recall-wrong-product-labeling-hazard · Updated October 11, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-0479-2021

Cite this page

“Natrol Melatonin Recall: Wrong Product Labeling Hazard.” GovInfoNow, updated October 11, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/14711-natrol-melatonin-recall-wrong-product-labeling-hazard. Based on FDA recall #F-0479-2021 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-0479-2021%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The product contains Alpha Lipoic Acid (ALA) instead of Melatonin due to a labeling error. While the record does not specify severe injuries, taking ALA when expecting Melatonin may lead to unintended health effects or interactions for those relying on it for sleep support.

Who’s affected

Consumers who purchased Natrol Melatonin 3 mg tablets in white bottles with purple flip-top caps between the manufacturing date and April 8, 2021. Individuals taking this specific supplement are at risk of consuming the wrong active ingredient.

How to tell if you have this one

Check if you have a white bottle with a purple flip-top cap labeled "Natrol Melatonin 3 mg, Tab 60." Look specifically for Lot number 2084395 and an expiration date of DEC31 23. The label also states "Fall asleep faster, Stay asleep longer" and "Drug Free."

  • Brand
    Natrol
  • Category
    Food
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Stop Using the Product

    Do not consume the tablets if your bottle matches the description and lot number above.

  2. Contact Natrol for Remedy

    The recall record does not specify a return or refund process; consumers should contact Natrol, LLC directly for further instructions.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed in 35 states and Puerto Rico, and outside the U.S.

Alaska: not listedAKMaine: yesMEVermont: not listedVTNew Hampshire: not listedNHWashington: yesWAIdaho: not listedIDMontana: not listedMTNorth Dakota: yesNDMinnesota: yesMNIllinois: yesILWisconsin: yesWIMichigan: yesMINew York: yesNYRhode Island: not listedRIMassachusetts: yesMAOregon: yesORNevada: yesNVWyoming: not listedWYSouth Dakota: not listedSDIowa: yesIAIndiana: yesINOhio: yesOHPennsylvania: yesPANew Jersey: yesNJConnecticut: not listedCTCalifornia: yesCAUtah: yesUTColorado: yesCONebraska: not listedNEMissouri: yesMOKentucky: yesKYWest Virginia: yesWVVirginia: yesVAMaryland: yesMDDelaware: yesDEArizona: yesAZNew Mexico: not listedNMKansas: not listedKSArkansas: not listedARTennessee: yesTNNorth Carolina: yesNCSouth Carolina: not listedSCDistrict of Columbia: not listedDCOklahoma: yesOKLouisiana: yesLAMississippi: yesMSAlabama: yesALGeorgia: yesGAHawaii: not listedHITexas: yesTXFlorida: yesFLPuerto Rico: yesPR

FDA distribution: “AL, AZ, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, IA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, NC, ND, NJ, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, PR, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI, WV and Ukraine, Serbia, Italy, Trinidad, Croatia” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

States: Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 5 months after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Apr 8, 202112. FDA classified it Class II: May 6, 202123. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: May 12, 202134. FDA terminated the recall: Sep 20, 202142021
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class II
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

✎ GovInfoNow

Questions people ask

Where was this product sold?

It was distributed in AL, AZ, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, IA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, NC, ND, NJ, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, PR, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI, WV, Ukraine, Serbia, Italy, and Trinidad.

Similar recalls

Latest food recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-0479-2021 (April 8, 2021) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-0479-2021 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 11, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA