Skip to content
Stop using now Food recall · FDA · Published July 16, 2021

Backcountry Dried Apricots Recall: Undisclosed Sulfites

Lipari Foods recalls Backcountry Dried Apricots because sulfites are not disclosed on the label, posing a risk to those with allergies.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-0795-2021FoodBackcountry ›
Take action

Contact the company

Recalling firmLipari Foods Operating Company, LLC.26661 Bunert Rd · Warren, MI 48089-3650
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

Lipari Foods Operating Company is recalling Backcountry brand Dried Apricots sold in 9-ounce plastic bags. The product was recalled because sulfites were not disclosed on the labeling. This omission can be dangerous for consumers who have sulfite allergies or sensitivities. No specific remedy or return instructions are provided in this record. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/14345-backcountry-dried-apricots-recall-undisclosed-sulfites.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/14345-backcountry-dried-apricots-recall-undisclosed-sulfites · Updated October 10, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-0795-2021

Cite this page

“Backcountry Dried Apricots Recall: Undisclosed Sulfites.” GovInfoNow, updated October 10, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/14345-backcountry-dried-apricots-recall-undisclosed-sulfites. Based on FDA recall #F-0795-2021 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-0795-2021%22&limit=1).

The FDA announced on July 16, 2021, that Lipari Foods Operating Company, LLC. voluntarily recalled Backcountry Dried Apricots due to undeclared sulfites in the labeling. The recall affects 86 cases distributed across 18 states.

How to tell if you have it

  • Brand: Backcountry
  • Product: Dried Apricots 9oz Bag
  • Lot No.: 440021117
  • Product No.: 276033
  • Best By Dates: 07/2021, 11/2021, 12/2021

The hazard

The product poses a hazard because sulfites were not disclosed on the labeling. The FDA classified this as a Class I recall.

Context

GovInfoNow's records show Lipari Foods Operating Company, LLC. has had 11 other recalls since December 11, 2018. Recent recalls include Dark Chocolate Nonpareils on June 18, 2025, and Premo Turkey & Swiss on June 27, 2024. Other recent recalls of similar products include Elegant Foods Golden Raisins (July 24, 2026), Mama Rose's Prickly Pear Salad Dressing (November 5, 2025), and Elegant Foods Coconut Flakes (July 24, 2026).

How to tell if you have this one

Check your pantry for Backcountry Dried Apricots in a 9-ounce plastic bag. Look for Product No. 276033 and Lot No. 440021117. Verify the Best By Date is one of the following: 07/2021, 11/2021, or 12/2021.

  • Brand
    Backcountry
  • Category
    Food
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Your Product

    Verify if you have Backcountry Dried Apricots with Product No. 276033 and Lot No. 440021117 with Best By Dates of 07/2021, 11/2021, or 12/2021.

  2. Avoid Consumption

    Do not eat the product if you have a sulfite allergy, as the allergen was not disclosed on the label.

Where it went and when

Where it was distributed

Distributed in 18 states.

Alaska: not listedAKMaine: not listedMEVermont: not listedVTNew Hampshire: not listedNHWashington: not listedWAIdaho: yesIDMontana: not listedMTNorth Dakota: not listedNDMinnesota: not listedMNIllinois: yesILWisconsin: yesWIMichigan: yesMINew York: not listedNYRhode Island: not listedRIMassachusetts: not listedMAOregon: not listedORNevada: not listedNVWyoming: not listedWYSouth Dakota: not listedSDIowa: not listedIAIndiana: yesINOhio: yesOHPennsylvania: yesPANew Jersey: not listedNJConnecticut: not listedCTCalifornia: not listedCAUtah: yesUTColorado: not listedCONebraska: not listedNEMissouri: yesMOKentucky: yesKYWest Virginia: yesWVVirginia: yesVAMaryland: not listedMDDelaware: not listedDEArizona: not listedAZNew Mexico: not listedNMKansas: yesKSArkansas: not listedARTennessee: yesTNNorth Carolina: yesNCSouth Carolina: not listedSCDistrict of Columbia: not listedDCOklahoma: not listedOKLouisiana: not listedLAMississippi: not listedMSAlabama: yesALGeorgia: yesGAHawaii: not listedHITexas: not listedTXFlorida: yesFL

FDA distribution: “Distributed to retail locations in the following states: AL, FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, MI, MO, NC, OH, PA, TN, UT, VA, WI WV.” States read from FDA’s own wording; “not listed” means the notice does not name it.

States: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin.

Recall timeline

FDA terminated this recall 2 months after the firm started it.

1. Firm started the recall: Jul 16, 202112. FDA classified it Class I: Jul 23, 202123. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report: Aug 4, 202134. FDA terminated the recall: Sep 23, 202142021
  1. Firm started the recall
  2. FDA classified it Class I
  3. Published in FDA’s Enforcement Report
  4. FDA terminated the recall

Dates from the agency record only; steps without a date are left out.

Similar recalls

Latest food recalls

Keep exploring

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-0795-2021 (July 16, 2021) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-0795-2021 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3.6:35b-a3b on October 10, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA