Skip to content
Drug recall · FDA · Published November 9, 2017

Mayne Pharma Inc recalls Liothyronine Sodium Tablets, USP 25 mcg ,100-count bottles, Rx Only, Distributed by Perrigo Minneapolis, MN 55427, NDC

Mayne Pharma recalls 100-count Liothyronine Sodium Tablets (25 mcg) due to failed dissolution specifications. Rx-only medication distributed by Perrigo. No remedy specified in official recall.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #D-0098-2018DrugMayne Pharma ›
Take action

Contact the company & request your remedy

Recalling firmMayne Pharma Inc1240 Sugg Pkwy, N/A · Greenville, NC 27834-9006
No email on file for this recall — reach the company by phone or its official page instead.No email on file — write to the address above instead.
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Mayne Pharma is recalling 100-count Liothyronine Sodium Tablets (25 mcg) that failed dissolution testing. This means the medication may not release properly in the body, potentially affecting treatment effectiveness. The recall is for prescription-only medication distributed by Perrigo. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/41103-mayne-pharma-liothyronine-tablets-recall-failed-dissolution-specifications.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/41103-mayne-pharma-liothyronine-tablets-recall-failed-dissolution-specifications · Updated October 7, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #D-0098-2018

Cite this page

“Mayne Pharma Liothyronine Tablets Recall: Failed Dissolution Specifications.” GovInfoNow, updated October 7, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/41103-mayne-pharma-liothyronine-tablets-recall-failed-dissolution-specifications. Based on FDA recall #D-0098-2018 (https://api.fda.gov/drug/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22D-0098-2018%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

Failed dissolution specifications mean the medication may not dissolve correctly in the body, which could lead to improper absorption and reduced effectiveness. This is a quality issue in the manufacturing process, not a safety hazard like breaking or choking.

Who’s affected

Prescription holders of Liothyronine Sodium Tablets (25 mcg) with NDC 0574-0222-01, Lot #:16F649, expiring May 2018. Patients on thyroid hormone replacement therapy are most at risk.

How to tell if you have this one

Check for Liothyronine Sodium Tablets, USP 25 mcg, 100-count bottles with NDC 0574-0222-01, Lot #:16F649, expiring May 2018. These are prescription-only medications distributed by Perrigo in Minneapolis, MN.

  • Brand
    Mayne Pharma
  • Category
    Drug
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Product Details

    Verify the product's NDC number (0574-0222-01), lot number (#16F649), and expiration date (May 2018) to confirm if it's recalled.

✎ GovInfoNow

Questions people ask

Is this medication safe to use?

The recall is due to failed dissolution specifications, which may affect effectiveness but does not indicate immediate safety risks. The official notice does not specify a remedy.

How do I know if I have the recalled product?

Check for Liothyronine Sodium Tablets, USP 25 mcg, 100-count bottles with NDC 0574-0222-01, Lot #:16F649, expiring May 2018.

What should I do if I have the recalled product?

The official recall notice does not specify a remedy, so no action is required beyond checking product details.

Take action

Contact Mayne Pharma

We’ve drafted a message you can send Mayne Pharma to request your refund or repair — edit it as you like.

Subject: Recall D-0098-2018 — Mayne Pharma Mayne Pharma

Hello,

I own a Mayne Pharma that is covered by recall D-0098-2018 from Mayne Pharma.

I’m writing to arrange the remedy described in the recall (a refund, repair, or replacement as applicable). Could you please tell me the next steps to resolve this?

Thank you.

Similar recalls

Keep exploring

From people who’ve dealt with this

Experiences, tips, and questions from readers. Every comment is reviewed before it appears.

No comments yet — be the first to share your experience.

Comments are reviewed before they appear. No links, ads, or personal attacks — those get removed.

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #D-0098-2018 (November 9, 2017) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for D-0098-2018 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3:4b on October 7, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA