Skip to content
Drug recall · FDA · Published August 9, 2019

American Health Packaging recalls Carbamazepine, Extended-Release Tablets, USP, 400 mg, 30 Tablets (3 blister cards x 10 unit doses), Rx Only,

American Health Packaging recalls 400mg Carbamazepine extended-release tablets due to failed dissolution specifications. Rx-only medication distributed with NDC 68084-562-21. No remedy specified in recall notice.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #D-1821-2019DrugAmerican Health Packaging ›
Take action

Contact the company & request your remedy

Recalling firmAmerican Health Packaging2550 John Glenn Ave Ste A, N/A · Columbus, OH 43217-1188
No email on file for this recall — reach the company by phone or its official page instead.No email on file — write to the address above instead.
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

American Health Packaging is recalling 400mg Carbamazepine extended-release tablets (Rx-only) because they failed dissolution specifications. This means the medication may not work properly when taken as intended. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/38191-american-health-packaging-carbamazepine-tablets-recall-failed-dissolution-specifications.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/38191-american-health-packaging-carbamazepine-tablets-recall-failed-dissolution-specifications · Updated October 5, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #D-1821-2019

Cite this page

“American Health Packaging Carbamazepine Tablets Recall: Failed Dissolution Specifications.” GovInfoNow, updated October 5, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/38191-american-health-packaging-carbamazepine-tablets-recall-failed-dissolution-specifications. Based on FDA recall #D-1821-2019 (https://api.fda.gov/drug/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22D-1821-2019%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The tablets failed dissolution specifications, meaning they may not release the medication properly in the body. This could lead to ineffective treatment for conditions like seizures or nerve pain. However, the recall does not specify if this causes serious harm.

Who’s affected

Prescription medication users who have the specific 400mg Carbamazepine extended-release tablets with NDC 68084-562-21. People taking this medication for seizures or nerve pain are most at risk.

How to tell if you have this one

Check for the 400mg Carbamazepine extended-release tablets in 30-count blister packs with NDC 68084-562-21. The medication is prescription-only and distributed by American Health Packaging.

  • Brand
    American Health Packaging
  • Category
    Drug
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Medication Details

    Verify the product label shows 400mg Carbamazepine extended-release tablets with NDC 68084-562-21.

✎ GovInfoNow

Questions people ask

Is this medication safe to use?

The recall states the tablets failed dissolution specifications, but does not say they are unsafe. The manufacturer recommends checking if you have the specific NDC number.

What should I do if I have this medication?

The recall notice does not specify any remedy or action steps. You should check the product details and contact your doctor or pharmacist.

How can I confirm if my medication is recalled?

Look for the NDC number 68084-562-21 on the blister pack. The medication is prescription-only and distributed by American Health Packaging.

Take action

Contact American Health Packaging

We’ve drafted a message you can send American Health Packaging to request your refund or repair — edit it as you like.

Subject: Recall D-1821-2019 — American Health Packaging American Health Packaging

Hello,

I own a American Health Packaging that is covered by recall D-1821-2019 from American Health Packaging.

I’m writing to arrange the remedy described in the recall (a refund, repair, or replacement as applicable). Could you please tell me the next steps to resolve this?

Thank you.

Similar recalls

Keep exploring

From people who’ve dealt with this

Experiences, tips, and questions from readers. Every comment is reviewed before it appears.

No comments yet — be the first to share your experience.

Comments are reviewed before they appear. No links, ads, or personal attacks — those get removed.

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #D-1821-2019 (August 9, 2019) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for D-1821-2019 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3:4b on October 5, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA