Skip to content
Drug recall · FDA · Published September 24, 2019

Apotex Inc. recalls Equate Maximum Strength Ranitidine Tablets, USP 150 mg Acid Reducer 130 Tablets Distributed by Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.

Apotex recalls 150mg ranitidine tablets due to possible N-nitrosodimethylamine (NDMA) contamination. Consumers should check NDC numbers and contact Apotex for details.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #D-0316-2020DrugApotex ›
Take action

Contact the company & request your remedy

Recalling firmApotex Inc.150 Signet Drive, N/A · North York, N/A N/A
No email on file for this recall — reach the company by phone or its official page instead.No email on file — write to the address above instead.
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Apotex is recalling 150mg ranit: a common acid reducer that may contain harmful impurities. This could pose health risks if taken regularly, so affected users should stop using and contact Apotex. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/37904-apotex-equate-maximum-strength-ranitidine-tablets-recall-possible-ndma-contamination.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/37904-apotex-equate-maximum-strength-ranitidine-tablets-recall-possible-ndma-contamination · Updated October 5, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #D-0316-2020

Cite this page

“Apotex Equate Maximum Strength Ranitidine Tablets Recall: Possible NDMA Contamination.” GovInfoNow, updated October 5, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/37904-apotex-equate-maximum-strength-ranitidine-tablets-recall-possible-ndma-contamination. Based on FDA recall #D-0316-2020 (https://api.fda.gov/drug/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22D-0316-2020%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The tablets may contain N-nitrosodimethylamine (NDMA), a harmful impurity linked to cancer risk. This contamination could occur during manufacturing, especially in batches with specific NDC numbers.

Who’s affected

People who bought these ranitidine tablets from Wal-Mart stores in the US. Those taking the medication for acid-related issues are most at risk.

How to tell if you have this one

Check for NDC codes: Twin pack is 49035-100-07, single pack is 49035-100-00. These tablets were sold by Wal-Mart in the US with expiration dates still valid.

  • Brand
    Apotex
  • Category
    Drug
FDA recall event · 6 products

All 6 products in this recall

FDA lists each product line separately under one recall event. Check your product description, lot or code numbers against each row. Every row shares the hazard and remedy on this page.

  • Classification
    Class II
  • Status
    Completed
  • Distribution
    Nationwide
Recall numberProduct, codes & lotsQuantity
D-0314-2020Walgreens Maximum Strength Wal-Zan 150 Ranitidine Tablets, USP 150 mg/Acid Reducer Distributed By: Walgreen Co., 200 Wilmot RD., Deerfield, IL 60015 a) 200 Tablets NDC 0363-1030-07; b) 24 Tablets NDC 0363-1030-02; c) 95 Tablets NDC 0363-1030-09; d) 65 Tablets NDC 0363-1030-06; All lots remaining within expiry.259,647 bottles
D-0315-2020Walgreens Regular Strength Wal-Zan 75 Ranitidine Tablets, USP 75 mg/Acid Reducer 30 Tablets NDC 0363-1029-03 Distributed By: Walgreen Co., 200 Wilmot RD., Deerfield, IL 60015; All lots remaining within expiry.42,873 bottles
D-0316-2020Equate Maximum Strength Ranitidine Tablets, USP 150 mg Acid Reducer 130 Tablets Distributed by Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. Bentonville, AR 72716 a) Twin Pack NDC: 49035-100-07; b) Single Pack NDC: 49035-100-00; All lots remaining within expiry.1,132,453 bottles
D-0317-2020Rite Aid Pharmacy Maximum Strength Ranitidine Tablets, USP 150 mg Cool Mint Acid Reducer 24 Tablets Sugar Free NDC 11822-6107-4 Distributed By: Rite Aid 30 Hunter Lane, Camp Hill, PA 17011; All lots remaining within expiry.31,968 bottles
D-0318-2020Equate Maximum Strength Ranitidine Tablets, USP 150 mg Acid Reducer Cool Mint Tablets Sugar Free 65 Tablets NDC: 49035-117-06 Distributed By: Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. Bentonville, AR 72716; All lots remaining within expiry.162,344 bottles
D-0319-2020Rite Aid Pharmacy Maximum Strength Ranitidine Tablets, USP 150 mg-acid reducer Distributed By: Rite Aid 30 Hunter Lane Camp Hill, PA 17011 a) 50 tablets NDC 11822-6052-1; b) 65 tablets NDC 11822-6052-2; c) 95 tablets NDC 11822-4727-3; d) 24 tablets NDC 11822-6051-8; All lots remaining within expiry.215,387 bottles
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Product Details

    Look for NDC codes 49035-100-07 (twin pack) or 49035-100-00 (single pack) on the packaging.

✎ GovInfoNow

Questions people ask

Is this product safe to take?

The recall states possible contamination with NDMA, but the official notice does not specify if the product is safe to take.

How can I get a replacement?

The recall record does not mention any replacement options or remedies.

What should I do if I have these tablets?

The recall record does not specify a remedy, so the official notice does not say what to do with the product.

Take action

Contact Apotex

We’ve drafted a message you can send Apotex to request your refund or repair — edit it as you like.

Subject: Recall D-0316-2020 — Apotex Apotex

Hello,

I own a Apotex that is covered by recall D-0316-2020 from Apotex.

I’m writing to arrange the remedy described in the recall (a refund, repair, or replacement as applicable). Could you please tell me the next steps to resolve this?

Thank you.

Similar recalls

Keep exploring

From people who’ve dealt with this

Experiences, tips, and questions from readers. Every comment is reviewed before it appears.

No comments yet — be the first to share your experience.

Comments are reviewed before they appear. No links, ads, or personal attacks — those get removed.

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #D-0316-2020 (September 24, 2019) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for D-0316-2020 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3:4b on October 5, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA