Skip to content
Drug recall · FDA · Published July 21, 2023

The Ritedose Corporation recalls Cromolyn Sodium Oral Solution (Concentrate) 100 mg/5 mL 96 Plastic Ampules per carton, Rx Only, For Oral Use Only - Not

Ritedose recalls Cromolyn Sodium Oral Solution (Concentrate) due to CGMP deviation. Product released before supplier approval. Not for inhalation or injection. Must be diluted before use.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #D-0946-2023DrugRitedose ›
Take action

Contact the company & request your remedy

Recalling firmThe Ritedose Corporation1 Technology Cir, N/A · Columbia, SC 29203-9591
No email on file for this recall — reach the company by phone or its official page instead.No email on file — write to the address above instead.
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Ritedose is recalling Cromolyn Sodium Oral Solution (Concentrate) because it was released before supplier approval, a CGMP deviation. This means the product may not meet safety standards. The recall applies to prescription-only items sold with specific lot numbers. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/33235-ritedose-cromolyn-sodium-oral-solution-recall-cgmp-deviation-risk.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/33235-ritedose-cromolyn-sodium-oral-solution-recall-cgmp-deviation-risk · Updated September 23, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #D-0946-2023

Cite this page

“Ritedose Cromolyn Sodium Oral Solution Recall: CGMP Deviation Risk.” GovInfoNow, updated September 23, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/33235-ritedose-cromolyn-sodium-oral-solution-recall-cgmp-deviation-risk. Based on FDA recall #D-0946-2023 (https://api.fda.gov/drug/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22D-0946-2023%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The product was released by the manufacturer before receiving supplier approval, which is a CGMP (Current Good Manufacturing Practice) deviation. This could mean the product does not meet safety standards for oral use. However, the recall does not specify the exact risk level or potential harm.

Who’s affected

Prescription holders who have the specific lot number 23CE2 of Cromolyn Sodium Oral Solution (Concentrate) 100 mg/5 mL 96 Plastic Ampules per carton. Individuals using this product for oral use only are most at risk.

How to tell if you have this one

Check for the lot number 23CE2 on the packaging. The product is a prescription-only Cromolyn Sodium Oral Solution (Concentrate) 100 mg/5 mL in 96 plastic ampules per carton, manufactured by The Ritedose Corporation.

  • Brand
    Ritedose
  • Category
    Drug
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Product Lot Number

    Look for the lot number 23CE2 on the packaging to confirm if it is recalled.

✎ GovInfoNow

Questions people ask

Is this product safe to use?

The recall states a CGMP deviation occurred, meaning the product was released before supplier approval. The official notice does not specify if it is safe to use.

What should I do if I have this product?

The recall does not provide specific action steps beyond checking the lot number. The official notice does not state a remedy for this product.

Is this product for inhalation or injection?

The product is explicitly stated as 'Not For Inhalation or Injection' and must be diluted before oral use.

Take action

Contact Ritedose

We’ve drafted a message you can send Ritedose to request your refund or repair — edit it as you like.

Subject: Recall D-0946-2023 — Ritedose Ritedose

Hello,

I own a Ritedose that is covered by recall D-0946-2023 from Ritedose.

I’m writing to arrange the remedy described in the recall (a refund, repair, or replacement as applicable). Could you please tell me the next steps to resolve this?

Thank you.

Similar recalls

Keep exploring

From people who’ve dealt with this

Experiences, tips, and questions from readers. Every comment is reviewed before it appears.

No comments yet — be the first to share your experience.

Comments are reviewed before they appear. No links, ads, or personal attacks — those get removed.

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #D-0946-2023 (July 21, 2023) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for D-0946-2023 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3:4b on September 23, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA