Skip to content
Food recall · FDA · Published June 9, 2017

Mikawaya recalls Shirakiku Brand Red Bean Ice Cream 3 gallon foodservice tub

Mikawaya recalls Shirakiku Brand Red Bean Ice Cream tubs due to possible metal fragments. Consumers should check lot numbers and contact for remedy.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-2400-2017FoodMikawaya ›
Take action

Contact the company & request your remedy

Recalling firmMikawaya5563 Alcoa Ave, N/A · Vernon, CA 90058-3730
No email on file for this recall — reach the company by phone or its official page instead.No email on file — write to the address above instead.
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

Mikawaya is recalling limited quantities of Shirakiku Brand Red Bean Ice Cream 3-gallon foodservice tubs because metal fragments might be present. This could cause injury if consumed. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/20950-mikawaya-shirakiku-red-bean-ice-cream-recall-metal-fragments-risk.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/20950-mikawaya-shirakiku-red-bean-ice-cream-recall-metal-fragments-risk · Updated October 8, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-2400-2017

Cite this page

“Mikawaya Shirakiku Red Bean Ice Cream Recall: Metal Fragments Risk.” GovInfoNow, updated October 8, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/20950-mikawaya-shirakiku-red-bean-ice-cream-recall-metal-fragments-risk. Based on FDA recall #F-2400-2017 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-2400-2017%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

Metal fragments could be present in the ice cream, posing a risk of injury if consumed. The hazard is not described as causing serious injury in normal use but requires consumption to cause harm.

Who’s affected

Foodservice providers and businesses that purchased Shirakiku Brand Red Bean Ice Cream tubs with lot number 125-17 are affected. Those handling the product without proper checks are at higher risk.

How to tell if you have this one

Check for the Shirakiku Brand Red Bean Ice Cream 3-gallon foodservice tub with lot number 125-17. The product was sold by Mikawaya.

  • Brand
    Mikawaya
  • Category
    Food
FDA recall event · 2 products

All 2 products in this recall

FDA lists each product line separately under one recall event. Check your product description, lot or code numbers against each row. Every row shares the hazard and remedy on this page.

  • Classification
    Class II
  • Status
    Terminated
  • Distribution
    DC locations in PA, TX, IL, CA, FL.
Recall numberProduct, codes & lotsQuantity
F-2399-2017Green Tea Ice Cream: Sold under the brand names of: Trader Joe's Brand Matcha- 1 quart tubs, SKU 055740; Shirakiku brand Matcha and Fukuya brand, both in 3 gallon foodservice tubs.; Trader Joe's - All lots: Shirakiku brand - Lots 119-17, 128-17; Fukuya Brand - Lots 116-17, 117-17, 129-17.13, 210 cases Trader Joe's, 1945 cases Fukuya brand and 1237 cases Shirakiku brand.
F-2400-2017Shirakiku Brand Red Bean Ice Cream 3 gallon foodservice tub; Shirakiku brand - Lot 125-17465 cases
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Product Lot Number

    Look for lot number 125-17 on the tub to confirm if it is recalled.

✎ GovInfoNow

Questions people ask

Is this product safe to eat?

The recall states metal fragments might be present, so it is not safe to consume. Contact Mikawaya for further instructions.

How can I get a replacement?

The recall record does not specify a remedy or replacement process.

What should I do if I have this product?

The recall record does not specify a remedy or replacement process.

Take action

Contact Mikawaya

We’ve drafted a message you can send Mikawaya to request your refund or repair — edit it as you like.

Subject: Recall F-2400-2017 — Mikawaya Mikawaya

Hello,

I own a Mikawaya that is covered by recall F-2400-2017 from Mikawaya.

I’m writing to arrange the remedy described in the recall (a refund, repair, or replacement as applicable). Could you please tell me the next steps to resolve this?

Thank you.

Similar recalls

Keep exploring

From people who’ve dealt with this

Experiences, tips, and questions from readers. Every comment is reviewed before it appears.

No comments yet — be the first to share your experience.

Comments are reviewed before they appear. No links, ads, or personal attacks — those get removed.

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-2400-2017 (June 9, 2017) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-2400-2017 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3:4b on October 8, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA