Skip to content
Food recall · FDA · Published July 23, 2020

San Francisco Street Bakery Inc. recalls Pain Au Levain Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Individually packaged in flex

San Francisco Street Bakery recalls Pain Au Levain Bread (July 6-7, 2020) due to soy lecithin not being declared on labels, though no specific hazard is stated in the recall notice.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #F-1332-2020FoodSan Francisco Street Bakery ›
Take action

Contact the company & request your remedy

Recalling firmSan Francisco Street Bakery Inc.1320 San Francisco Ave Ne, N/A · Olympia, WA 98506-4138
No email on file for this recall — reach the company by phone or its official page instead.No email on file — write to the address above instead.
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

San Francisco Street Bakery is recalling Pain Au Levain Bread produced July 6-7, 2020, because the product labels do not list soy lecithin, a component used in the pan release spray. This recall does not indicate a safety hazard or health risk that requires immediate action. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/15473-san-francisco-street-bakery-pain-au-levain-bread-recall-soy.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/15473-san-francisco-street-bakery-pain-au-levain-bread-recall-soy · Updated October 5, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #F-1332-2020

Cite this page

“San Francisco Street Bakery Pain Au Levain Bread Recall: Soy Lecithin Not Listed on Labels.” GovInfoNow, updated October 5, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/15473-san-francisco-street-bakery-pain-au-levain-bread-recall-soy. Based on FDA recall #F-1332-2020 (https://api.fda.gov/food/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22F-1332-2020%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

The recall states that soy lecithin was used in pan release spray on equipment, but the product labels do not declare soy lecithin. This could pose a risk for individuals with soy allergies, but the recall does not specify a safety hazard or health risk.

Who’s affected

Anyone who purchased the Pain Au Levain Bread from San Francisco Street Bakery between July 6-7, 2020. People with soy allergies may be at risk if the product contains soy lecithin.

How to tell if you have this one

Look for Pain Au Levain Bread with a net weight of 16 oz (454 g), individually packaged in flex poly bags, produced July 6-7, 2020, and labeled with the San Francisco Street Bakery brand. The product does not have a code or expiration date.

  • Brand
    San Francisco Street Bakery
  • Product
    Pain Au Levain Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Individually packaged in flex
  • Category
    Food
FDA recall event · 17 products

All 17 products in this recall

FDA lists each product line separately under one recall event. Check your product description, lot or code numbers against each row. Every row shares the hazard and remedy on this page.

  • Classification
    Class II
  • Status
    Terminated
  • Distribution
    distributed in WA only.
Recall numberProduct, codes & lotsQuantity
F-1318-2020Cheddar Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: CHEDDAR CHEESE BAGEL: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Cheddar Cheese (Pasteurized Milk, Cheese Culture, Salt, Enzymes, Annatto (color), Potato Starch, Com Starch, Powdered Cellulose) Water, Salt Yeast, Brown Sugar.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.52 bagels
F-1319-2020Cinnamon Raisin Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: CINNAMON RAISIN BAGELS: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Salt Yeast, Brown Sugar, Raisins, Cinnamon.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.13 bagels
F-1320-2020Everything Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: EVERYTHING BAGEL: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Onion, Poppy Seed, Sesame Seed, Water, Salt Yeast, Brown Sugar.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.48 bagels
F-1321-2020Garlic Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: GARLIC BAGEL: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Felic Acid), Garlic, Water, Salt Yeast, Brown Sugar.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.20 bagels
F-1322-2020Onion Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: ONION BAGEL: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Onion, Water, Salt Yeast, Brown Sugar.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.24 bagels
F-1323-2020Pesto Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: PESTO BAGEL: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Felic Acid), Pesto (Basil, Canola Oil, Water, Parmesan Cheese (pasteurized part-skim cows' milk, cheese culture, salt, enzymes) Water, Salt Yeast, Brown Sugar.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.55 bagels
F-1324-2020Plain Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: PLAIN BAGEL: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Salt Yeast, Brown Sugar.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.48 units
F-1325-2020Poppy Seed Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: POPPY SEED BAGEL: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Poppy Seed, Water, Salt Yeast, Brown Sugar.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.14 bagels
F-1326-2020Salt Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: SALT BAGEL: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Salt, Water, Yeast, Brown Sugar.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.16 bagels
F-1327-2020Sesame Seed Bagel, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Packaged in flex poly bags for bulk or various quantities specific to customer order. No UPC. The bagel bulk product label read: SESAME SEED BAGEL: Bread Flour (Unbleached Wheat Flour, Vitamin C, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Felic Acid), Sesame Seed, Water, Salt Yeast, Brown Sugar.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.24 bagels
F-1328-2020Desem Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Individually packaged in flex poly bag, net weight 22 oz. UPC 0 08613 10001 8. The product label read: "***desem ***Ingredients: stone ground organic whole wheat flour, water, organic wheat flour, sourdough culture, organic unhulled sesame seeds, sea salt *** San Francisco Street Bakery *** Olympia, WA***".; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.14 loaves
F-1329-2020French Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. French Bread sold as an individual unit through the firm's on-site retail store, net weight unknown. No UPC.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.10 loaves
F-1330-2020Italian Farm Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Individually packaged in flex poly bag, net weight 23 oz (652 g). UPC 0 08613 10005 6. The product label is read in parts: "***Italian Farm Bread ***Ingredients: unbleached wheat flour, cracked wheat, wheat bran, sea salt, yeast. Contains: Wheat ***San Francisco Street BAKERY, Olympia, WA ***".; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.34 loaves
F-1331-2020Olive Levain Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Individually packaged in flex poly bag, net weight 16 oz (454 g). UPC 0 088613 10014 8. The product label is read in parts: "***Olive Levain Bread ***Ingredients: unbleached bread flour, water, calamata olives, sourdough culture, sea salt ***San Francisco Street BAKERY, Olympia, WA ***".; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.16 loaves
F-1332-2020Pain Au Levain Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Individually packaged in flex poly bag, net weight 16 oz (454 g). UPC 0 08613 10013 1. The product label is read in parts: "***Pain Au Levain Bread ***Ingredients: unbleached wheat flour, water, sourdough culture, sea salt ***San Francisco Street BAKERY, Olympia, WA ***".; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.62 loaves
F-1333-2020Rosemary Garlic French Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Individually packaged in flex poly bag, net weight 14 oz (400 g). UPC 0 08613 10008 7. The product label is read in parts: "***Rosemary Garlic French Bread***Ingredients: Unbleached Wheat Flour, Water, Sea Salt, Garlic, Yeast, Rosemary. Contains: Wheat***San Francisco Street BAKERY, Olympia, WA ***".; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.36 units
F-1334-2020Sourdough Rye Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Sold as an individual unit through on-site retail store bulk display, net weight unknown. No UPC.; Production dates July 6-7, 2020. No code or expiration date noted on the packages. Firm color codes tie closures representing the days of the week.2 units
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Product Labels

    Look for the label that states 'Pain Au Levain Bread' with ingredients including unbleached wheat flour, water, sourdough culture, and sea salt, and the San Francisco Street Bakery brand.

✎ GovInfoNow

Questions people ask

Is this bread safe to eat?

The recall does not state that the bread is unsafe; it only notes that soy lecithin is not declared on labels.

Why is soy lecithin not listed on the labels?

The recall states that soy lecithin was used in pan release spray on equipment, but the product labels do not declare it.

Do I need to stop using this bread?

The recall does not specify a safety hazard or health risk that requires immediate action.

Take action

Contact San Francisco Street Bakery

We’ve drafted a message you can send San Francisco Street Bakery to request your refund or repair — edit it as you like.

Subject: Recall F-1332-2020 — San Francisco Street Bakery Pain Au Levain Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambien

Hello,

I own a Pain Au Levain Bread, San Francisco Street Bakery brand, keep at ambient temperature. Individually packaged in flex that is covered by recall F-1332-2020 from San Francisco Street Bakery.

I’m writing to arrange the remedy described in the recall (a refund, repair, or replacement as applicable). Could you please tell me the next steps to resolve this?

Thank you.

Similar recalls

Keep exploring

From people who’ve dealt with this

Experiences, tips, and questions from readers. Every comment is reviewed before it appears.

No comments yet — be the first to share your experience.

Comments are reviewed before they appear. No links, ads, or personal attacks — those get removed.

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #F-1332-2020 (July 23, 2020) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for F-1332-2020 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3:4b on October 5, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA