Skip to content
Drug recall · FDA · Published February 4, 2019

ICU Medical Inc recalls 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP 1000 mL flexible container, Rx only, Hospira, Inc., Lake Forest, IL 60045 USA, NDC

ICU Medical recalls 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP 1000 mL flexible container due to CGMP deviations. This product is for prescription use only and may be unsafe for medical administration.

🇺🇸 FDA recall #D-0509-2019DrugICU Medical ›
Take action

Contact the company & request your remedy

Recalling firmICU Medical Inc600 N FIELD DRIVE · LAKE FOREST, IL 60045
No email on file for this recall — reach the company by phone or its official page instead.No email on file — write to the address above instead.
✎ GovInfoNow plain-language explainer

What happened, in plain English

ICU Medical is recalling 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP 1000 mL flexible containers because of manufacturing quality control issues. This product is for prescription use only and may not be safe for medical administration. Read more at govinfonow.com/recall/39216-icu-medical-0-9-sodium-chloride-injection-recall-cgmp-deviations.

Source Summary by GovInfoNow · govinfonow.com/recall/39216-icu-medical-0-9-sodium-chloride-injection-recall-cgmp-deviations · Updated October 5, 2026 · FDA enforcement record: FDA #D-0509-2019

Cite this page

“ICU Medical 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection Recall: CGMP Deviations.” GovInfoNow, updated October 5, 2026. https://govinfonow.com/recall/39216-icu-medical-0-9-sodium-chloride-injection-recall-cgmp-deviations. Based on FDA recall #D-0509-2019 (https://api.fda.gov/drug/enforcement.json?search=recall_number:%22D-0509-2019%22&limit=1).

Why it’s dangerous

CGMP deviations refer to failures in the manufacturing process that could result in unsafe products. This means the saline solution might not meet the required quality standards for medical use, potentially causing harm if used improperly.

Who’s affected

Prescription patients using this specific 1000 mL saline solution from ICU Medical. Healthcare providers administering the product are most at risk due to potential safety issues.

How to tell if you have this one

Check for the product name '0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP 1000 mL flexible container' with the lot number 91-016-JT and expiration date July 1, 2020. This product is sold by ICU Medical, Inc. in Lake Forest, IL.

  • Brand
    ICU Medical
  • Category
    Drug
Based on the official FDA remedy

What to do — step by step

  1. Check Product Details

    Verify the product's lot number and expiration date to confirm if it matches the recalled items.

✎ GovInfoNow

Questions people ask

Is this product safe to use?

The recall indicates potential manufacturing issues, so it is not recommended for use until the remedy is applied. However, the specific remedy is not stated in the recall notice.

What should I do if I have this product?

The recall notice does not specify a remedy, so contact ICU Medical directly for guidance on next steps.

How can I confirm if my product is recalled?

Check the product's lot number and expiration date against the recalled items: Lot # 91-016-JT, Exp. July 1, 2020.

Take action

Contact ICU Medical

We’ve drafted a message you can send ICU Medical to request your refund or repair — edit it as you like.

Subject: Recall D-0509-2019 — ICU Medical ICU Medical

Hello,

I own a ICU Medical that is covered by recall D-0509-2019 from ICU Medical.

I’m writing to arrange the remedy described in the recall (a refund, repair, or replacement as applicable). Could you please tell me the next steps to resolve this?

Thank you.

Similar recalls

Keep exploring

From people who’ve dealt with this

Experiences, tips, and questions from readers. Every comment is reviewed before it appears.

No comments yet — be the first to share your experience.

Comments are reviewed before they appear. No links, ads, or personal attacks — those get removed.

Where this comes from

The facts (hazard, remedy, dates, manufacturer) are pulled from the official FDA recall record. The plain-language summary and step-by-step checklist are written by GovInfoNow to make the official notice easier to act on — they don’t replace it.

  • Official source: FDA Recall #D-0509-2019 (February 4, 2019) — FDA publishes no per-recall page; this is the official machine-readable enforcement record. Search FDA recalls for D-0509-2019 to see it in context.
  • Plain-language summary written by qwen3:4b on October 5, 2026, from the official record above. Not reviewed by a person — if it conflicts with the FDA notice, the notice is correct. Report an error on this page.
  • GovInfoNow is an independent service and is not a government agency. We republish official FDA recall data; we don’t issue, amend or administer recalls.
GovInfoNow is an independent guide. We are not FDA or any government agency. Always confirm details with the official recall.Data: CPSC · FDA · NHTSA · USDA